What's new

Star Wars Main Title mockup

Syntherklaas

Hi all,

I'm an amateur musician, (self-)studying orchestral programming since a while. I decided to have a go at the main theme from Star Wars, to see if and how I would be able to handle such a complex score. I'd be very grateful for your comments and suggestions!

V1.2 (clean up low end, strings runs):
View attachment starwars2.mp3

V1:
View attachment starwars.mp3

VSTs used:
Woodwinds: Berlin Woodwinds (flutes, clarinets), Cinematic Studio Woodwinds (oboes, bass clarinet, bassoons)
Strings: Benjamin Wallfisch Strings
Brass: Berlin Brass, Tom Holkenborg's Brass (trombone 1), Cinematic Studio Brass (muted trumpet)
Percussion: Berlin Percussion
Harp: Berlin Symphonic Harps
Berlin Studio for woodwinds and muted trumpet

Last edited:
The first 8 sec I thought that was a real recording o_O. I'm rarely fool by VST instruments. Well done! I love your trumpets.
As a mockup, the job is done.:emoji_thumbsup:You can always polish here and there, but you can also use your time to make your own compositions. Maybe you already have some? Not everyone wants to do that, but when we are making this kind mockup, it's often to learn and get closer to a music style inspiring to us.

I look forward to hear that.

Fantastic - I too felt that the first sections were incredibly real sounding, particularly the brass.

Some of the woodwind runs are a bit shonky later on (it's always the woodwind runs that give away samples I find).

Amazing job!!! I wonder if @Blakus will be along to point out the real score playing underneath or something :)

The programming seems all ok. The sounds and dynamic seems all correct. However, I feel the mixing and effects could be improved. I would suggest:

1- Lower the reverbs: Currently, the reverb is a bit too much especially on fast passages and chord changes. The current amount or tail size is making notes blurry into each other.