What's new

Scipt Help: How to setup a user input defined CC# to control single and multiple modulators and Fx

Casey Edwards

This is my first attempt at scripting with KSP and I'm completely lost. I've been reading Nil's website, Google'ing like crazy, and searching YouTube and I can't figure out how to get started quite yet. I've taken classes on Java programming so I understand how programming works with loops and algorithms and such, but not quite sure how to use KSP yet.

What I'm wanting to do: Give the option to the user on the UI to pick what CC# they want to use for 2 instances.

1) Pick a CC# to control a LP Filter for faux-dynamics
2) Pick a single CC# to control multiple modulators across 3 different groups I've already programmed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• On init
    declare ui_value_edit $CC_LP (<min>,<max>,<stepping>)
    move_control($CC_LP,1,1)

declare ui_value_edit $CC_Mods (<min>,<max>,<stepping>)
    move_control($CC_Mods,1,2)

end on

This'll create two value edits on the UI, named CC_LP and CC_Mods. (Don't forget to find out the right values for the minima, maxima and stepping!)
next, via ...

• on controller
    if($CC_NUM = $CC_LP)
    < Script >
    end if

if($CC_NUM = $CC_Mods)
    < Script >
    end if
    end on

... you can check controller movement whether it's the same controller as assigned in CC_LP or CC_Mods (not necessary, but keeps the CPU from performing unnecessary tasks if a different controller than CC_LP or CC_Mods is moved). To get the value of the controller, use %CC[$CC_LP] for the Lowpass and %CC[$CC_Mods] for the Modulators' CC.

Thanks, Acall! I'm going to cross-reference your script with the KSP manual and see if I can't begin to make sense of how to use this language properly. If you have anything to add to help out feel free and thanks again!