What's new

Any Samsung 870 EVO users?

jtnyc

Hi,

Amazon is selling the 4tb Samsung 870 EVO for $250 at the moment. I am still using an hdd for samples and am considering grabbing one of these. Seems like a super good price. As I have no experience with running samples off of an ssd so I'm curious if anyone can advise me. Is the 870 good for samples?

Any info appreciated

Thanks

Seems like a good deal. Assuming it’s a sata drive, so speeds will be faster than your hdd.

If you look around you may be able to get a crucial nvme 4tb for close to the same price if you want way faster speed than a sata ssd (seeing a crucial p3 nvme 4tb for $199 on Amazon right now).

Seems like a good deal. Assuming it’s a sata drive, so speeds will be faster than your hdd.

If you look around you may be able to get a crucial nvme 4tb for close to the same price if you want way faster speed than a sata ssd (seeing a crucial p3 nvme 4tb for $199 on Amazon right now).
That looks great, but I'm not sure how I would hook that up to my Mac Mini. I currently have all of my drives in and OWC Thunder Bay 3 and was planning on putting an ssd in it to replace the current hdd.

I have a bunch (3 for samples, 1 additional in an enclosure for mobile music-making) of the 870 4TB EVO SATA drives and they've been rock solid in my system. The reason those Crucial P3 NVME drives are cheaper when compared to other NVME M.2, is that they don't have DRAM, so they tend to come at a bit of a bargain cost. But if you're looking to drop the SATA drive into the Thunder Bay 3, I think you'll find the Samsung pretty reliable for samples.

Including this link just for context.

I have both Crucial and Samsung SSDs. Both have been solid for me.

Nice to see SSDs approaching $50/TB!

Related Note: For VI Sample storage, DRAM-less NVMe drives are not a problem. The initial write may take longer, but once the samples are on the drive, read speeds are great.