What's new

Took the Leap...

snowleopard

After I don't know how many years and Kontakt revisions, I finally got fed up with not having all I wanted in Kontakt and took a big leap into scripting and programming this week. Not quite as intimidating as I thought it would be, though I'm still a total noob at it. I have to say, it's a little addicting! I do have some beginner questions though I hope someone can answer.

1) When I create a background image and use it as Wallpaper, I find that when I change the file and save over the old one, it doesn't change in Kontakt. I have to create a newer version. Not a huge deal, but what is Kontakt doing here? Where is it putting my original image? As it's not linking to it. Or am I saving it in the wrong folder/location?

2. I have an older Evolution X-Session MIDI control surface. This thing is really handy when I get the CC assignments applied. But I can't seem to figure out how to save the mapping out to where I can apply it to other instruments. Now, I imagine that it's not going to apply to completely different libraries of course, but even in scripted layouts I create and save (and assign MIDI CC to), if I re-load that script into a new instrument I create, the assignments aren't there, and I can't figure out how to remedy that.

Thanks ahead of time for your patience.

Kontakt 5.2, Logic 9 on a Mac running 10.6.8.

1. Kontakt has to reload it to see any changes, so you need to relaunch.

2. A script won't save MIDI CC assignments made to the instrument (ie. right click, learn or automation routings). If you need the script to remember CC routings, they need to be explicitly coded into that script and made_persistent.

Yeah, it's very addictive!

cheers
Dan

Thanks Don. I understand about make_persistent, but don't know how to script CC routings (yet). Can you send me somewhere to find out how?

I noticed that bout the reload this morning updating the wallpaper.