What's new

Mixer: What do you want to receive?

pauldirks

Hi everyone, relative newbie here. I think this is the right place for this question, although let me know if should be under the Mixing forum.

I am working on 15 pieces of hybrid music ~3 minutes long to go along with the chapters in an audio book. I want to hire someone to mix them for me and am looking for suggestions and best practices as far as what someone would want to receive. I am currently using BBCSO Core, Perc X, and some AAS plugs (VSS3 and Chromophone) in Cubase. Not sure this matters much. Presumably, mixers are dealing with the audio stems and not midi. Here are some of the questions I have:
- would the mixer want to receive the articulations for each instrument separately, or in one track?
- currently I have some basic mastering plugs on the main output. Would the mixer want no mastering plugs at all?
- currently panning in BBCSO Core is according to the natural settings. I have panned additional instruments around it. Anything I should be doing or expecting regarding the panning?
- currently using Eventide Ultrareverb for reverb, but my approach is pretty simple. Will a mixer prefer a dry mix (well as dry as BBCSO gets!) to add their own reverb magic?
- how much work should I be putting into my own best-attempt mix of each piece?
- anything else?

I can't afford to pay a pro, but I am thinking there may be some people here would would be willing to do this for $1k USD.
Note: not looking for interested parties quite yet.

Your thoughts or suggestions? I am open to anything (including "no one is going to do that work for so little!") Thanks.
Paul

hi paul! welcome to the forum :)
let me answer a few of your questions:

1. it doesn't matter what daw / plugins you use, because like you said, people mix on audio stems
2. you don't need to separate every articulation, just maybe the more different ones. for example separate spiccatto strings from long strings