What's new

FMC 2021 Competitions

I am an organizer of the events with a wide network of friends doing the same....
I have to say as impressive as your competition is in terms of prestige one thing you and your colleagues have certainly overlooked is to at least display the footage for each category that contestants will be prospectively composing to!

One would have thought that any one of the rostrum of talent you have on the jury would be the first to agree: it just doesn't make any sense to have to pay an entrance fee before even being able to see the footage! After all none of them would work professionally on a project without at least seeing a pilot scene/storyboard or a synopsis of the script!

As a professional composer myself, regardless of the budget, I only work on projects that I feel have a level of quality. Hence it goes without saying I certainly wouldn't pay a prospective client to find out if their project is worth getting involved with or not!

I perfectly understand that the prize money and administrative costs need to be covered by the fee but not to pre-display the video footage is frankly absurd!

Here's how it should be done: https://www.bestservice.com/the_orchestra_contest.html

Last edited:
Just signed up for the documentary and trailer competitions. Not only am I not impressed by the trailer, I'm actually a bit miffed. It's literally just a video of a mission from a (imo rough-around-the-edges) helicopter flight simulator game.

This one won't be a composition competition as much as an underscoring competition. I suppose caveat emptor, but... there was no way to check this stuff before purchasing. I need some practice underscoring anyway, but it kinda sucks.