What's new

EastWest Hollywood Orchestra on sale at $372! What's the rub?

river angler

My first ever post here!...
(Please forgive its length!)

I am a pro composer/songwriter/musician working mainly in film/TV.

I was about to post this thread under a different heading when I noticed EastWest have Hollywood Orchestra bundled with its Hollywood Solo Instruments libraries now on sale for an astonishing $372 ! Hence the title: "What's the rub?"! I suspect at this give-away price they must be imminently releasing a new orchestral library no?

For over a year now I have been deliberating investing in Spitfire's Symphonic Orchestra Complete package.

For longer than I'd care to admit I have been working with Miroslav Philharmonik (original) and the basic Kontakt library for most of my classical scoring mock-ups and occasional mastered projects. However, as much as I have grown used to a certain way of working round their limitations I am now increasingly finding the amount of that work needed to get my compositions to decent presentable form for my clients on time is now proving too stressful to achieve.

Yes! you may well wonder why I have never upgraded from these libraries who's samples are well over a decade old! Call me a luddite! but I guess I'm just one of those musicians/composers who upgrades majorly in one fair swoop rather than jump on the bandwagon of increasingly frequent plugin product releases. Also I've always been a believer that working with less tools brings out the best in a composer and accordingly have invested in quality studio kit over the years that captures what I write well but least interferes with the creative writing process.