What's new

Dune 3 is a surprising contender for score and film

Databroth

I've been playing with a LOT of synths, and just up front I have zero experience with score and film
I'm just going off of my ears and memory

we all know synths like falcon and zebra are more than capable of doing sound design for professional production and cinematic quality sounds
but often times wavetable and "dance" synths just don't quite cut it for that level of quality
either they lack the nuance, or detail required for producing high end emotional dimension

I'd personally argue any synth with the right hands and tools could be placed into film tastefully, but this is more of a claim based on ease of use and variety of sounds, so I'm not trying to dismiss any products. but clearly most of these tools are built around music production and not score

I had a blast streaming Dune today, and the sounds I was getting out of it, especially at the end felt as though they could sit alongside an orchestra
I don't know how this community feels about most synths, but if you've passed up on Dune because you assumed it was a synth for electronic music, give it another look

also this isn't an ad, they aren't paying me, they did give me a free copy, but I have pretty much everything at this point.

here's the latest stream, there is occasional clipping, but this is solved by bringing the output volume down, and channel volume up (something I don't quite have access to live)

particularly the pad I make after the one hour mark really made me smile

Your description of Dune3 as lush nails it.
I plan to play your video through (after tonite's NLCS ballgame of course) but have listened to the final 20 minutes = love its sounds.
I agree that some composer could/should take this synth and along with some Beethoven-7th-Symphony-3rd-mvt-level ideas churn out their soundtrack.symphony.whatever.
Thanks for posting!
Cheers, Bill

Last edited: