Composer vs Arranger: what if you can't do both?

Discussion in 'Working in the Industry' started by creativeforge, Feb 12, 2019.

1. creativeforge

creativeforge Barefoot Heart Music

Hi all, sorry if I don't have the industry jargon right, but please indulge me. :)

I'm not a professional composer, but I still compose my own music as there is nothing else I can do but work that way. Sometimes I even think some of it has potential.

1- But can you get work as a composer - as compared to an arranger - if you don't write or read music scores?

2- If you can't arrange your music yourself, is that a serious strike against you?

3- Are composers who get hired on projects ALSO required to arrange their own music, or do they hire someone to take care of that, or is one hired for them by the project manager?

Where to start?

Thanks!

Andre

2. Parsifal666

Parsifal666 I don't even own a DAW, I'm just a troll.

Sep 7, 2015
    E. YeeHaw, Indiana
    I don't think so, especially if you have a producer. I'll elaborate: a music producer is a person whose duties include helping to arrange things in the composer's music, most often without taking credit.
    Composition means you wrote a piece of music, while arranging and orchestrating are necessarily separate and (quasi) exclusive to composition in some cases. Many composers of course choose to do everything (I certainly do, not a big fan of little helpers).

Of course, not having people arrange and orchestrate my music could be part of the reason I'm scraping by with what I write now lol! But I follow Bernard's old credo, that orchestration can be like a composer's fingerprint. When it comes down to my copy editor, I already have the composition, arrangement, and practically all the orchestration down...but will listen to little tidbits of advice. When it comes to actual, compositional credit (which concurrently means they get a percentage of my music) I put the brakes on reeeeeal fast.