What's new

An interview with dan graham composer and co-founder of gothic instruments by thorsten meyer

Thorsten Meyer

AN INTERVIEW WITH DAN GRAHAM COMPOSER AND CO-FOUNDER OF GOTHIC INSTRUMENTS by Thorsten Meyer
Dan Graham from Gothic Instruments did take the time out off his busy schedule to provide some insights and background information about Gothic Instruments and their virtual instruments which help some many to write inspiring cinematic music.

Thorsten Meyer: Dan, first of all, thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule. Would you be so kind and tell us a bit about yourself and how Gothic Instruments started out in the business?

Dan Graham: Since 2004 I’ve been a composer and then music publisher. I’ve always been interested in sample libraries and created my own collections so I thought I would try to make something commercial in 2006. Since then I did 7 collections for Zero G before finally co-creating our company in 2014.

Tell us a little more about the team behind Gothic Instruments?

The owners are me and Adam Hanley. Adam is the scripting genius while I have the product ideas.

Screen-Shot-2017-06-17-at-09.33.52-1024x894.png

Congratulations on your latest release Gothic Instruments DRONAR Dark Synthesis, the fourths instrument of your DRONAR series. All DRONAR libraries give access to very cinematic sounds, how did you come up with the unique system implemented in DRONAR libraries?

I tried to create interesting quick drone textures with other products and found that they seemed a bit too hard to customise, and you would only get one sound at a time which then takes a long time to sequence and automate. I suppose my system for creating new products is just imagining playing with something, what I want it to do, and what the interface would look like - so it’s like I see it in my head then create sketches and keep working on improving the concept for a while before scripting starts.