What's new

Adding SIPS/WIPS to commercial sample libraries

ScarletJerry

I'm a digital music hobbyist, and I have some a few commercial libraries (Cinematic Strings, Cinesymphony Lite, etc.) I have been able to add WIPS and SIPS scripts to some of my free samples, or samples that I converted from Soundfonts, but I try to add these scripts on commercial libraries, I cannot get them to produce a sound. Has anyone tried this?

-Scarlet Jerry

As far as I know, Cinematic Strings already use a fake legato script and Cinesamples libraries have real recorded legato transitions (as far as I know). In both cases, SIPS would have no desirable effect?

Cinematic strings uses real legato, but it is not pronounced as much as I would like it to be. Cinesymphony Lite does not have any legato, although the other libraries from Cinesamples do.

-Scarlet Jerry

Yes, the legato in The CS2 is very shy...I thought they hided it a bit to make playing more fluid and stress free. Good to learn that it is at least real by nature :) Didn´t know about the light Version of Cinesamples though.

Unfortunately programming can not be boiled down to adding a bunch of choice scripts together. Commercial libraries generally have non-trivial scripting under the hood that manages voices, legato, playback ranges, etc. You can't always add some unrelated script and expect the systems to cooperate with each other.

I see many people fall into this idea that chaining scripts together is like making effects chains, where one output gets fed into some other input and it's a straight line. It's far more complex; this is why adding scripts like SIPS to libraries that have existing scripting yields undefined/unintended/none at all results.